Verbalizing Life

Silncionaspalavras[1]“I have no words to describe how I feel” usually leaves an impacient and impulsive person like me frustrated. Or when the other person has too many words, I feel like grabing a knife and cutting to the chase.

All in all, I’m not good with words. My fluency in two languages is socially acceptable and yet, I don’t feel as though I know enough words.

And because my vocabulary range is compromised, I wonder if that compromises the way in which I experice my existence. Words like “hypothetically speaking” taught me how to look beyond my scenario and explore other alternatives without prejudice. “Euphoric” has enhanced my experience of “happiness”. The french expression “pauvre d’esprit” has managed to capture the sadness of those who naively deny their intellectual potential. So, it is safe to assume that a wide knowledge of words is quite the tool for successful self-expression.

Then, it would be folly to neglect the counter-argument that this possibility offers. George Orwell stole my idea when he created the fictional language, Newspeak, in his novel, Nineteen Eighty-Four. The language proposed the shortenning of words… and consequently, their meanings.

Prophecies come true, and here we sit, in 2013, with YOLO.

Once a beautiful latin expression, now the equivalent of an acronym accompanied by bitches and hoes.

Metaphors and analogies are being pushed aside by a society that needs corehent, concise and cohesive statements. When once each house had a name, and adoration began at the temple’s pillars, in this day and age buildings are nothing but planned erections, forever surviving on injections of our undeniable greed for practicability.

Aesthetics have been converged into efficiency.

Long words take too long so people long to shorten them.

We are given word counts that count for nothing except for reducing our marks if we surpass them. As a result, we are faced with a world of noisy human beings.

Which is why, out of all forms of written expression, I enjoy poetry the most.

It’s a quiet way of screaming.

The end.

[http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-0_DP8P8SnL8/TjaJuJ_UVsI/AAAAAAAAAP4/gF7V15vyLM4/s1600/Silncionaspalavras%255B1%255D.jpg]

FYI: Sesquipedalianism is a linguistic style that involves the use of long words.

 

 

 

One thought on “Verbalizing Life

Whaddya think?

