Nonsense is the new black

My homie Reggie
My homie Reggie

Despite an amazing Afro, there is something else that caught my attention when watching Reggie Watts’ performance. This German-American-Italian man (nobody knows where exactly he comes from), has found a unique way to make us laugh. I’m not much of a stand-up comedy fan. The only comedian I’d pay to watch is Mitch Hedberg. And he’s deceased. (like all the good ones)

Reggie, unlike Mitch, does not need to get high in order to not make sense onstage. Truly sober (although speculations about his mental levels are frequent), Reggie takes his audience into a journey of everyday nonsense. Literally.

The guy stands on a minimal stage and talks about the race of androids in which we see ourselves in everyday, and how fantastic it is that tomorrow is a day that never comes. And also the fact that our body, a compilation of molecules, is able to move itself (thanks to our will) through a invisible layer of thin air. When he gets tired of speaking in italian, russian, or whatever he fancies, he sings us a little amazing song, using only his voice as an instrument. (He’s an amazing beat boxer)

After destroying the repeat button on youtube and fantasizing about his afro, the fact that I even found the whole “performance” funny got to me. It simple made no sense. And still, I laughed.

Everyday, every second, we are so busy absorbing every bit of information and categorizing it, trying to make some sense of what we see, calculating our reactions, anticipating our movements, and sitting here, looking at the computer screen watching a man for 10 minutes and not knowing what was going on was a weird experience. Eventually, my brain just gave up and I was forced to enjoy a brief moment of not understanding anything. So laughing seemed like the appropriate response. I laugh often. But usually I laugh because something prompts me to laugh.

This time, however, I laughed because I simply didn’t know what to do with myself.

Interesting.

It can be that in trying to rationalize everything, we end up losing sight of the nonsensical, silly things that may have the potential to make us laugh, and, in general, make us more appreciative of things this life has to offer us. It gave me a new perspective on “comedy”, and it gave me confidence, since I am someone who is very often accused of not making sense.

I will do as my homie Reggie does: let the hair lose and not make sense.  (which shouldn’t be that hard, really)

Here’s a link for his performance at a TED conference, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdHK_r9RXTc

[http://www.fabrikalink.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/reggie1.jpg]

Whaddya think?

